I use to know this song

Remember this crazy, amazing music video clip “Sledgehammer” by Peter Gabriel? After all these years, I still LOVE it just as much as when it came out in 1986. Apparently, Peter Gabriel lay under a sheet of glass for 16 hours while filming the video one frame at a time! Patience, I say!

By now everyone has had the chance to listen to “Somebody That I Used To Know” By Wouter De Backer, better know as Goyte. The first time I heard the song (together with the music video) I couldn’t help thinking of Peter Gabriels “Sledgehammer” song. In Goyte’s video there is also a blend of stop motion animation, body painting and the way the camera pans (and moves) – then, when he hits the high notes (I don’t know about anyone else?) but I am thinking Peter Gabriel! Even though it might be for a few seconds…see what you think.


OK, two very different style that make me love them both and appreciate stop-motion animation. Want to see more? Watch Goyte’s recent live performance at the 2011 ARIA’s awards here.

{images from the Goyte website}

Leave a Reply

