Look, spaghetti arms. This is my dance space….

Everyone has heard the famous quote by Johnny “Nobody puts baby in the corner” but do you remember…:“Look, spaghetti arms. This is my dance space. This is your dance space. I don’t go into yours, you don’t go into mine. You gotta hold the frame”Dirty Dancing has to be by far the most memorable film in my early teens. It was 1987 and I was apparently too young to be watching such a sexy film. It was only just couples dancing a wee bit tight, closer than usual, right? No dad (definitely mine) didn’t like their daughter seeing it, though. It was sexy, their chemistry on screen was so real…i thought it wast the most amazing, romantic film back then, with a great soundtrack. It was the movie that made me dream of becoming a dancer. I loved Johnny (Patrick Swayze) and I wanted to be just like baby (Jeniffer Grey). What girl isn’t a diehard fan of the 80s flick Dirty DancingTwenty-three years later, Jennifer Grey is back, still glowing at age 50 and has won the title of Dancing With The Stars 2010. It was by accident that I found out that she’s was on Dancing With The Stars (thanks to youtube), since we don’t get that show in Holland. I’m so happy she’s is back in the spotlight and I get to see more of her fun-loving, free spirit person she is. Jennifer Grey in Dancing With The Stars first performance inspired by Dirty Dancing, and in memory of beautiful Patrick Swayze. Dancing to the Waltz to These Arms of Mine, a song from the film and the love scene where baby says…: “Me? I’m scared of everything. I’m scared of what I saw, I’m scared of what I did, of who I am, and most of all I’m scared of walking out of this room and never feeling the rest of my whole life the way I feel when I’m with you”….: I might have to watch the movie AGAIN after wrting about this…
Still Images via: Obsessed With Film & Available Images

Leave a Reply

