Wide smiling face of Luna Park

Every kid who grew up in Sydney has probably some fond memory of Luna Park, at least i do. Luna Park is an amusement park and very well known in Sydney. It’s been there ever since I can remember but has closed down, re-opened and closed down again…: at the moment it’s still operating. The location is fantastic; it sits right on the water side, next to the Harbour Bridge.

Sometime in the late 80’s (when i was around 12 years) my best friend at that time, Nadina invited me to go along with her family to celebrate her birthday at Luna Park. I remember the entrance (everyone does) and the only other thing I recall is the drive there – I was so excited to experience Luna Park for the first time…: So anyway, over the summer I was contacted (via flickr) if I was interested in submitting my photo (see below) to be used for  a Sydney city guide.  Then a few months later I was delighted to hear that my photo of Luna Park entrance had been selected for inclusion in the newly released edition of the Schamp Sydney Guide.

Link to my photo and Sydney Guide on-line…:Luna Park

The photo was taken early this year while I was there with my brother and his daughter…on my way out of the wide, maybe a bit creepy smile for some of us.

 

 

 

Leave a comment