Delft Treasures Unveiled

Over the weekend, the city of Delft (and around Holland) opened its door to the public for the event, Open Monument Day (open monumentedag in Dutch). It’s the only opportunity to see and discover historical buildings that are not normally open for the public.

I venture out into little Delft on both Saturday and Sunday. It´s hard to see everything, even if you have two days. The weather was unbelievably gorgeous that it was so hard to stay inside for too long. I discovered new places and revisited familiar places too. The water tower (see above images) gave me a new perspective of Delft, that I never seen before. I also noticed how green Delft is!

Inside the very spacious and beautiful, Oude Kerk (Old Church).

You can see the old church, sticking out in the back of the photo.

It was a hot day and these boys were having so much fun jumping off the bridge, into the canals.

If people were not swimming in the canals, they were sitting on the terrace.

Above and below, images of the Gemeente (town hall) It’s quite a small place but a charming building.

Remonstrantse Kerk (hidden church) the cutest church in Delft, secretly hidden away.


[ All photos by.: Susan Jimenez ]

So I leave you with the best secret treasure that I discovered on Sunday. It’s hidden away, outside the main centre of Delft. A great place to visit for a peaceful day out. If you are searching for a break from the city, and feel like being surrounded by nature, this is the place. Kruithuis (gun power tower) build around 1659  – I took plenty of photos of this secret spot, but will share it some other time. For now, this green Delft.

3 comments
  1. Thanks so much for sharing your beautiful photos! I was sad to miss the openmonument dag in Delft as we were away for the weekend but this way I got to at least experience a little. Love the perspective on the sunflower! Nice to see inside the town hall again too – I received my dutch citizenship here in 2007! A few new places I’ll need to explore in Delft, thanks for the tips.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,314 other followers

