More than twist in my sobriety

“More than twist in my sobriety” by Tanita Tikaram (1988)

………………………………….
In the morning I wipe my brow
Wipe the miles away
I like to think I can be so willed
And never do what you say
I’ll never hear you
And never do what you say
………………………………….
Cup of tea, take time to think, yea
Time to risk a life, a life, a life
Sweet and handsome
Soft and porky
You pig out ’til you’ve seen the light
Pig out ’til you’ve seen the light

Half the people read the papers
Read them good and well
Pretty people, nervous people
People have got to sell
News you have to sell

Look my eyes are just holograms
Look your love has drawn red from my hands
From my hands you know you’ll never be
More than twist in my sobriety

Beautiful nostalgic song from the 80’s. One that I had completely forgotten about till today. The combination of the song lyrics with the video clip is what makes it hauntingly intriguing. I love the photography with sepia tone, and the way the shots are well thought out. The children in the video are beautiful. Video set in a rural village in the Bolivian Altiplano. Directed by Gerard de Thame.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,317 other followers

