Canal Ice Skating

Sunday was my first day of Ice Skating after two years! I was really looking forward to it. But as i made my way through the snowy bumps and on to the smooth ice, i heard some crackling sounds of ice!!!. Nothing happened, just a normal thing that you might hear over the frozen canals!

It was so quite around Delft Zuid, a short 5km ride from my place. The ice was new and smooth. However, Ice skating can be challenging if you are not Dutch and you didn’t grow up doing it at such a young age. You need to work on your balance, dealing with frozen toes, very cold wind on your face, climbing over walking path bridges and skating under bridges, just to name a few. But once i got my momentum going, i picked up some speed, it feels fantastic. But OK, that only lasts for two minutes and then Rutger gives me a push….and off i am again! Lol!!!.

Crazy guy above trying out Kite Ice-Skating. Now, he was all over the place, not so smooth.

Rutger, showing me how its done, he is such a pro at one-foot glides!

On the way back, i was not at all confident about skating under this (very low) bridge. So, i took my time and a tall man (skating at a good pace) squeezed in before me – went under and hit his head on the steel piece of the bridge!!! It was bad. The poor man’s head was bleeding really hard. I could not believe what just had happened, so i can’t even imagine what he felt!. At that stage, i skated on my bum under the bridge and called it a day.

Skating in -10 degrees outside, with toes that feel like they might drop off… Just doesn’t feel normal, or right anymore. But everyone else is out there!. How do they handel the cold?

Later, the short 5km bike ride back home became my biggest nightmare, and the worst cold experience in my life. A little dramatic it may sound, but it WAS. Freezing weather and skating does not come natural to me, but it’s a very special thing to experience.…AND i will be back out again tomorrow ;)

1 comment
  1. Very interesting info!Perfect just what I was searching for!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,316 other followers

